Golden Kite, Golden Dreams: The SCBWI Awards

Golden Kite, Golden Dreams highlights the diversity and high standards that the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) sets for Golden Kite Awards recognition. Instituted in 1974, the Golden Kite Award is given annually by SCBWI to recognize excellence in children's literature in four categories: fiction, nonfiction, picture book text, and picture book illustration. It is the only children's literary award judged by a jury of peers. Curated by Caldecott Medalist David Diaz, this first-ever Golden Kite retrospective exhibition includes some of the most talented and influential children's book illustrators working the past 40 years. Ranging in medium from pencil, ink, and acrylic, to watercolor, scratchboard, and paper cutting, Golden Kite, Golden Dreams features 75 original artworks created by 47 artists (listed below).

This exhibition is organized by National Center for Children's Illustrated Literature, Abilene, Texas, and supported in part by Angela Vella in memory of Dr. Elvira Garcia.

Featured Artists
Aki Sogabe, Alice Provensen, Amy Walrod, Barbara Lavallee, Barbara Helen Berger, Barbara McClintock, Beth Krommes, Carlyn Beccia, Carol Lerner, David Shannon, Dennis Nolan, Lauren Mills, Diane de Groat, Don Wood, Donna Diamond, Erick Ingraham
Holly Berry, Hyewon Yum, Janet Stevens, Jean Cassels, Jerry Pinkney, John Parra, Kathy Jacobi, Keith Baker, Kevin Hawkes, Kristen Balouch, Kurt Werth, Larry Day, Laura Mcgee Kvasnosky, Lauren Stringer, Loren Long, Lynn Sweat, Marla Frazee, Martin Provensen, Melissa Sweet, Ponder Goembel, R. Gregory Christie, Richard Jesse Watson, Robert Sabuda, Susan Jeffers, Suse MacDonald, Tim Coffey, Tomie dePaolo, Trina Schart Hyman, Uri Shulevitz, William Joyce, and Yuyi Morales